NOTE: This article is 3 years or older so its information may no longer be relevant. Read on at your own discretion! Comments for this article have automatically been locked, refer to the FAQ
for more details.
Turns out that every time you use the new Spotlight search in OS X Yosemite, the keywords are sent real-time to Apple and even shared with Microsoft. This is an intrusion on privacy, but luckily it can be stopped quite easily. There are a number of settings that need to be switched off to do this.
First thing to do is switch off the following settings in the Spotlight Preferences
under Search Results
- Spotlight Suggestions
- Bookmarks and History
- Bing Web Searches
Then you have to switch off the complimentary setting in Safari Preferences under the Search
tab. This setting is called Include Spotlight Suggestions
Once that's done your keywords will not be spied upon.
A quick disclaimer...
Although I put in a great effort into researching all the topics I cover, mistakes can happen.
If you spot something out of place, please do let me know.
All content and opinions expressed on this Blog are my own and do not represent the opinions of my employer (Oracle).
Use of any information contained in this blog post/article is subject to this disclaimer
Other posts you may like...